Lifelong Learning at HTISC

Since its beginning in 2003, HTISC has boasted a diverse and pragmatic curriculum. The institution encourages its students to learn with two Chinese phrases in mind:「活到老,學到老」、「學海無涯,學無止境」. The first means to not only live to an old age but to continue learning even in your golden years. The second means to treat education as the sea, as knowledge is endless and without bounds, reinforcing our diverse curriculum. Students learn language, health care, physical and mental care, creative arts, music, and technology. They also study choir, painting, Tai Chi, Ikebana, Chinese calligraphy, handcrafts, and dance. At HTISC, education is taken to another level as elders are able to go on field trips every month to cultivate their understanding of culture and history. At the end of the semester, the results are prominent in their progress and by then, students have fostered a sense of community with one another.

 

The concept of lifelong learning is as old as human history and prized within Japan. Its definition is simple: it's a process in which an individual continuously develops his or her knowledge, skills, and attitudes in life, which in turn will have a great impact on vitality and facilitate positive impacts. American scholar, J. Dewey, also put forth that education and gaining knowledge are two experiences that span a lifetime. However, there are other things that can aid in lifelong learning, such as friendship, community, and the ability to gain new experiences.  

The meaning of lifelong learning: 

  1. Understanding that learning is a journey that lasts a lifetime.

  2. The methods of learning are diverse and flexible.

  3. Learn to emphasize the spirit of autonomy.

  4. The content of learning is all-encompassing, and education develops a person as a whole.

  5. Learning is a right, not a privilege. 

 

We need to learn to grasp lifelong learning opportunities. People often use "wait a minute" as an excuse. And this becomes an obstacle when there's time and chance to obtain lifelong learning. Motivation blooms from within a person, which will lead to an interest in knowledge. Although we get older every passing minute, our spirits stay young and curious.

At present, life is moving sunset after sunset, so we should grasp the opportunity to learn during good times. That way, life becomes a happy harvest. In accordance to your interests and needs, you can attend HTISC to pursue an honorary degree or take classes that pertain to your interests. Both paths pursue a better ability to live life to its fullest.

 

Horticulture, Ikebana, and crafts are courses based around improving physiological and psychological health, benefiting a person's well-being by bringing them closer to nature. Tai Chi, dance, and morning exercises are to emphasize exercise and fitness. Computer classes are to expand your horizons and bring awareness to the modern world. Choir, Chinese calligraphy, painting, and music appreciation make up the recipe to a tempered mind and soul. History, Hakka culture, Taiwanese history, Taiwanese proverbs, health knowledge, and etc. are all subjects to enrich life knowledge and provide wisdom. All of our classes promote physical and mental health. Lifelong learning can reduce and avoid early onset of dementia and Alzheimer's and help create happier families and a better society.

終身學習的松年學院 

休士頓台灣松年學院自從2003年成立以來的課程是多元且富實用性。學院以「活到老,學到老」、「學海無涯,學無止境」為目的來鼓勵長輩學習。讓長輩從語言學習、養生保健、身心活化、藝術創作、音樂才藝、電腦資訊特色推廣課程中,多元學習,促進身心靈健康。長輩們常表演律動、合唱、繪畫、太極拳、插花、氣道書法、舞蹈及手工藝等,每學期末展現學習成果可從多元課程中找到生命中的感動,擁有一份團體的歸屬感。

 

終生學習的觀念存在與人類歷史一樣久遠,日本有「修業一生」,美國學者杜威(J. Dewey)也提出教育和學習是終生歷程的說法。在松年學院除了學習之外又可結識很多朋友,每個月組團一日遊。美國聯邦政府的終生學習計畫中曾指出,終生學習是個體在一生中持續發展其知識、技巧和態度的過程對生命力有很大的幫助,同時對個人與社稷產生正面積極的影響。

 

終生學習的意涵:

1.學習是持續一生的歷程。

2.學習的管道和方式是多元且彈性的。

3.學習強調自主的精神。

4.學習的內容無所不包,是一種全人發展的教育。

5.學習是一項權利而不是特權。

 

我們需要把握住終生學習機會,人們往往以「等一下」為藉口,等我有空才來學習這是終生學習的障礙物,終生學習源於一個人看不見的內在感到好奇,才會引起學習的興趣。雖然我們年齡增加,但心齡年青是「老不休」退而不休對萬事興趣盎然的寫照。

 

目前我們處在「夕陽餘暉」應把握住美好時光中學習機會,讓生命充滿喜獲豐收的現象。根據自身的興趣及需要,來進行有計畫(進松年學院)或無計畫(即時自認為有興趣) 的學習廣泛的活動,以追求更好的生存之道,請來松年學院。

 

學院的園藝,插花,手工藝課程就是利用接近植物及自然對不良生活行為的改善、生理、及心理上的健康獲益。太極拳,舞蹈,晨操是強調運動健身。電腦是擴充您的視野和新知。合唱團,氣道書法,繪畫,音樂欣賞陶冶性情心靈康寧的良方。其他課目充實生活知識,幫助照顧健康和增添睿智:歷史之旅/客家文化,台美史地,台灣俗語故事/人生園地,保健常識/社會新知等,這些都是多元學習,促進身心靈健康。終生學習也是精神及生理上的治療的課程,能減低及避癡呆症早先發生,使社會和家庭得到更幸福。